Wednesday, April 17, 2024

APC’s Desmond Elliot, Sangodara win Surulere Constituency 1 and 2

• March 19, 2023
Desmond Elliot and ballot box
Desmond Elliot and ballot box

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Nollywood star Desmond Elliot, and Songodara Mosunmola, the candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as the winners of the Surulere 1 and 2 State Constituency election in Lagos State.

The Returning Officer for Surulere Constituency 1,  John Fenuga from the University of Lagos, announced the result on Sunday at the Surulere Local Government Collation Centre in Lagos by 8:02 a.m.

He said Mr Elliot emerged as the winner with 17,837 votes, while Bode Adebayo, the candidate of the Labour Party (LP), came second with 7,822 votes.

“Olusola Elliot of APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” Mr Fenuga said.

According to him, Sulaimon Aderemi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came third with 1,045 votes, and Esebamen Aigbokhaode of ADC came forth with 81 votes.

“Omotosho Oluseyifunmi of ADP came fifth with 57 votes, Olalekan Oshodi of SDP came sixth with 56 votes, Sulaimon Aderemi of AA came seventh with 28 votes, Peace Onwuboro of NNPP came eighth with 19 votes, Folami Akinpelumi of BP came ninth with 16 votes.

“Also, Malik Opeyemi of APP came tenth with three votes, Nnadi Nnaemeka of NRM came eleventh with two votes,” Mr Fenuga said.

The Returning Officer for Surulere Constituency 2, Marian Quadri from the University of Lagos, declared the result on Sunday at 8:15 a.m. at the Surulere Local Government Collation Centre in Lagos.

She said Mosunmola Sangodara emerged as the winner with 21,894 votes, Sunday Famoritade of the Labour Party came second with 20,892 votes, and Olaboeale Johnson of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came third with 2,034 votes.

“Kamoli Mogagi of AA came fourth with 1,172 votes, Clement Lawanson of NNPP came fifth with 208 votes, Mobafolu Ogunbiyi of YPP came sixth with 611 votes, Olubola Adesanya of BP came seventh with 150, Quadri Aileru of ADC came eighth with 94 votes, Juliana Kanpe of ADP came ninth with 86 votes.

“Olaseni Esere of SDP came tenth with 59 votes, Elijah Oseni came eleventh with 32 votes, while Ahmed Olashile of PRP came twelfth with six votes,” Ms Quadri said.

Reacting, the former vice-chairman, Surulere Local Government, Agboola Dabiri, described the 2023 governorship and assembly elections as transparent and peaceful.

Mr Dabiri, who received the election results on behalf of the APC elected candidates, commended the INEC officials for the job well done.


We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette

Katsina State


Katsina youths pledge to deliver over 2 million votes to Atiku

“Katsina State is Atiku’s political base because it is his second home.”

Cubana Chief Priest


Businessman Cubana Chief Priest secures N10 million bail

The court adjourned the case until May 2, for hearing of the preliminary objection.

Lagos Blue Rail Line


Lagos, Ogun in talks over possible extension of Blue Rail Line to Agbara

Mr Okusaga said that the project was to be completed in three years.

Kwara State Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq


NSCDC commandant seeks increased vigilance to boost security in Kwara

Mr Mohammed said the NSCDC will work tirelessly to address security challenges in the Kwara community.

Court Gavel


Businessman bags one year jail for stealing car gearbox worth 200,000

The prosecutor said the convict was caught while trying to sell the stolen item.

Cubana Chief Priest


Cubana Chief Priest pleads not guilty to naira abuse charge

The defendant lawyer urged the court to grant his application for bail as moved.