Monday, December 4, 2023

8th Osun Assembly: First-timer Adewale Egbedun emerges speaker

On Tuesday, Adewale Egbedun, the lawmaker representing the Odo-Otin state constituency, emerged as the speaker of the Eighth Osun House of Assembly.

• June 7, 2023
Adewale Egbedun and Osun Assembly
Adewale Egbedun and Osun Assembly

On Tuesday, Adewale Egbedun, the lawmaker representing the Odo-Otin state constituency, emerged as the speaker of the Eighth Osun House of Assembly.

Mr Egbedun, a Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) member and a first-time lawmaker, was nominated by Abiola Ibrahim, representing the Irewole-Isokan constituency. Areoye Ebenezer representing Atakumosa East-West constituency, seconded the motion.

Akinyode Oyewusi, the lawmaker representing the Ife North state constituency, was elected deputy speaker.

Mr Oyewusi was nominated by Elisha Oderinwale, a lawmaker representing the Ayedire state constituency, and was seconded by Kashope Abolarinwa, a lawmaker representing the Ifedayo state constituency.

Simeon Amusan, the assembly clerk, administered the oath of allegiance and oath of office to the speaker and deputy speaker.

Mr Egbedun, in turn, administered the oath of allegiance and oath of office to the remaining 24 members of the assembly.

In his acceptance speech, the new speaker called on his colleagues “to join hands with him to run a true and new age Osun House of Assembly.”

Under his leadership, he said the eighth assembly would focus on the legislature that would improve workers’ welfare, and infrastructural development, improve people’s lives and work with the executive to develop Osun.

Mr Egbedun, however, said the assembly would revisit the laws passed by the seventh assembly at the twilight of its tenure, especially between August and November 2022, to correct obnoxious bills passed.

In his proclamation address, Governor Ademola Adeleke sought the legislators’ support to achieve his five-goal development agenda of good governance.

Mr Adeleke said since the executive and majority of the lawmakers belong to PDP, the two arms should work towards the same goal of good governance and providing the people with the dividends of democracy.

Mr Egbedun took over from Timothy Owoeye, an All Progressives Congress (APC) lawmaker, who piloted the parliament’s affairs from 2019 to 2023.

Other principal officers elected afterwards include Babajide Kofoworola (Ede North) as majority leader; Adekunle Oladimeji (Irepodun-Orolu) as deputy majority leader. Also, Olawale Akerele (Ilesa West) was elected as chief whip, while Afeez Ibrahim (Olaoluwa) was elected deputy chief whip.


We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette

Katsina State


Katsina youths pledge to deliver over 2 million votes to Atiku

“Katsina State is Atiku’s political base because it is his second home.”

Israeli soldiers and Hamas


U.S. reiterates two-state solution to Israeli-Palestinian war

The U.S. says it is committed to promoting sustainable peace between the Israeli and Palestinian people as well as the adoption of a two-state solution to end the war between the countries.

Katsina state map (Credit: Punch)


Katsina to make four million residents ‘digitally compliant’ by 2027

DigiKat aims to educate, empower, upskill and make about four million individuals and groups digitally compliant by 2027.


U.S. supporting Nigeria to tackle insecurity, ensure stability in West Africa: Greene

Mr Greene noted that the U.S. “is providing support to Nigeria in furtherance of its police reform and capacity building” to deliver justice transparently.


Fire breaks out in NTA Sokoto office

“The OB van, equipment, and office furniture have also been saved from the inferno,” an NTA statement said.

Oyo State Government logo


Mohameed emerges Miss Oyo State at annual beauty contest

A contestant, Miss Tolulope Mohameed, on Sunday in Ibadan, Oyo State, won the 20th edition of the annual Miss Oyo State Beauty Contest

Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi


Ooni inaugurates cultural centre, canvasses promotion of Nigerian heritage, values

“We have rich culture, heritage, norms and values that we can market to the outside world.