Friday, December 2, 2022

APC Campaign Council: Lai Mohammed’s Kwara South protests exclusion

Mr Mohammed, an erstwhile close ally of APC presidential candidate Bola Tinubu himself was not named in the 422-man strong list.

• September 25, 2022
Bola Tinubu and Lai Mohammed
Bola Tinubu and Lai Mohammed

Leaders and stakeholders of the All Progressives Congress (APC) from Kwara South have protested the alleged exclusion of zone members from the party’s Presidential Campaign Council (PCC).

Kwara South is the senatorial District where Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, hails from. Mr Mohammed, an erstwhile close ally of APC presidential candidate Bola Tinubu himself was not named in the 422-man strong list.

Adebayo Daramola, APC elder and secretary general, Kwara South Consultative Forum (KSCF), protested the exclusion in a statement issued on Sunday.

He said such exclusion was an affront to the collective sensibility of APC members from the zone.

Mr Daramola added that it would not augur well to exclude the zone that had sacrificed more for the party.

Mr Daramola expressed worries over the development, adding that all the names released were from Kwara Central and this remained a great concern that must be rectified without delay by the party’s leadership.

He said this is how marginalisation began but added that such must not be allowed to stand as it would jeopardise the party’s unity in the state.

He said the lopsidedness should be holistically addressed in a comprehensive manner that would bring about cohesion in the APC.

“We should not entertain the impending marginalisation because our fear is that if Sen Bola Tinubu, the presidential candidate of the party, eventually wins, I hope we won’t be facing the same in future appointments,” he said.

Mr Daramola also frowned at the alienation of Kwara North from the campaign council, stressing that such exclusion could destabilise the party ahead of the general elections.

He urged the governor to intervene to forestall the danger of such exclusion immediately.

Members of the campaign council that made a list from Kwara in the just released names include Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq, La’Aziz Jimoh, Issa Aremu, Sen. Bashiru Ajibola and Issa Onilu.

Others are Rahman Giwa, Gbemisola Saraki, Ibrahim Oloriegbe, Is’haq Modibbo Kawu and Baba Rasaq, the governor’s younger brother.


We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette


Enugu DisCo laments vandals destroying its equipment

EEDC has arrested and handed eight electricity installation vandals to the police for investigation and prosecution.

Akin-George Fashola

Hot news Home top

Lagos begins issuing international driver’s permit

The Lagos government says it will start issuing international driver’s permit effective this month.

Olufunmilayo Balogun-Alexander


Guterres appoints Nigerian Balogun-Alexander UN resident coordinator in Timor-Leste

Ms Balogun-Alexander has more than 30 years of experience working on and leading humanitarian, peace and development projects at a senior level globally.

National Agency for the Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons (NAPTIP) and sexual and gender-based violence (SGBV) used to illustrate the story.


SGBV: NAPTIP decries rising violence against women, girls in Abuja

NAPTIP received a report of 1,100 cases of domestic SGBV between January and October.

Biden Putin


Biden hints on NATO-led talks with Moscow, if Putin is “willing”

Mr Biden says he is prepared to hold talks with Russia President Vladimir Putin in consultation with his allies from the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO).

Oyo State governor, Seyi Makinde (Photo Credit: Twitter)


2023: Makinde parleys PDP members in Ogbomoso, begs for votes

Mr Makinde said that the essence of the meeting was to resolve the internal crises within the party in the zone.