Saturday, May 28, 2022

Ekiti 2022: Amid protests, fraud allegations, Biodun Oyebanji declared APC gubernatorial candidate

Opeyemi Bamidele had 760 votes, Femi Bamisile, 400, Kayode Ojo, 767, Adedayo Adeyeye, 691 and Bamidele Faparusi, 376, Demola Popoola, 239…

• January 28, 2022
Biodun Oyebanji
Biodun Oyebanji

Biodun Oyebanji, immediate past Secretary to Ekiti Government, has emerged winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primaries.

Declaring the winner, the chairman of the Primary Election Committee, Governor Muhammad Badaru of Jigawa, said Mr Oyebanji had 101,703 out of the total votes cast.

Mr Badaru announced this at the State Collation Centre, APC party secretariat in Ado-Ekiti.

“It is my pleasure to declare Biodun Oyebanji as the winner of this primary, having scored the highest votes cast. Having satisfied all necessary criteria, I hereby declare Abiodun Abayomi Oyebanji as the winner,” declared Mr Badaru.

He added that Ekiti APC had 183,560 registered members, 107,877 members were accredited, and the total votes cast was 104,983.

The chairman expressed surprise at the allegations by some aspirants that they were not consulted. He explained that the meeting slated for Thursday morning between the committee and the aspirants was cancelled because of a security report.

The Jigawa governor disclosed that the primaries took place across the 177 wards and that it was free and fair.

“However, there are pockets of violence. When we receive the results, we will know where we need to cancel; we will. As we have earlier promised, we have ensured a level playing ground for all aspirants,” the committee chairman added.

On the protest by some aspirants, the committee chairman explained that he had not received any official petition but only heard about it on the media. He directed that the returning officers of the wards where elections were not held should write their reports and submit the same to the committee.

The results presented by the 16 local government area returning officers revealed that Mr Oyebanj won in all the council areas.

Opeyemi Bamidele had 760 votes, Femi Bamisile, 400, Kayode Ojo, 767, Adedayo Adeyeye, 691 and Bamidele Faparusi, 376, Demola Popoola, 239 and Oluwasola Afolabi, 47 in the Option A4 direct primary adopted for the primary.

Six of the eight aspirants had protested the alleged hijack of the exercise in the morning and demanded the primaries be stopped. Messrs Oyebanji and Popoola were not among the protesters.


We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette



APC shifts presidential primary to June 6-8; PDP to go ahead with convention

Felix Morka, the party’s National Publicity Secretary, announced this in a statement on Saturday in Abuja.


Four suspected rail track vandals arrested in Kaduna

Operatives of the NSCDC arrested four suspected vandals and recovered 500 railway slippers in Kaduna.


APC Oshodi-Isolo II APC Primary: Jude Idimogu scores zero; loses third term bid

His greatest challenger, Oladipo Ajomale, pulled 30 votes from the 30 party delegates to emerge winner of the exercise.


James Faleke wins APC Ikeja Federal Constituency ticket for fourth term

The Returning Officer, Ewosho Oladunjoye, declared Mr Faleke the winner having polled 47 votes out of a possible 50.

Senator Teslim Folarin


Teslim Folarin emerges APC guber candidate for Oyo

Mr Folarin polled 954 votes, Mr Adelabu 327, Mr Agbaje 15, Mr Alao six, Mr Adeduntan two votes while Mr Akintola had no vote.