Sunday, October 1, 2023

Full list of winners at 8th Africa Magic Viewers Choice Award in Lagos

The award night was the last of an 8-day event that involved a fashion show, food festival, digital content creators day amongst other activities.

• May 15, 2022

The 8th Africa Magic Viewers Choice Award, the most anticipated award show for Nigerian film and television industry, hosted by Nigeria’s IK Osakioduwa and South Africa’s Bonang Matheba, took place in Lagos at the Eko Hotel and Suites, on the night of Saturday, May 14.

The award night was the last of an 8-day event that involved events like a fashion show with Bella Naija, food festival and cultural day, digital content creators day, special gala for nominees amongst other activities.

Praised for its amazing production and huge turnout from celebrities, the award show had noteworthy moments like popular skitmaker, Oga Sabinus, winning his first ever award in Lagos, for the new category “Best online social content creator”, performances from music legend Lagbaja, who performed alongside singer Rema, and a posthumous tribute to movie professionals, delivered by Nigerian Idols Kingdom and Akunna.

Their was also the reenactment of the controversial 2022 Oscar’s Will Smith and Chris Rock altercation by actor Deyemi Okanlawon and IK Osakioduwa, as Deyemi tried to storm up to the stage, only to be dragged back by bouncers while IK said “This is not the Oscars… guys be gentle with him, he’s wearing a tux.”

Certain categories in the award show were also attached with monetary gifts, like the best soundtrack in a film, won by Pascal Aka, Raquel for Goldcoast Lounge, walked away with one million naira; the best dressed male and female of the night, a category that was won by fashion icon and media personality Denola Grey and actress Osas Ighodaro respectively, walked away with N500,000 each.

The trailblazer award which was presented by American actress Tasha Smith, known for her role as Angela in Tyler Perry’s “Why did I get married” and her twin Sidra Smith, was won by actor and producer Teniola Aladese, with an added sum of a million naira and surprised with a free training at the Tasha Smith Acting Workshop and gifted $2,000 from the American actor.

Tinsel got a special recognition award for its contribution to the Nigerian entertainment scene as the longest running series, running for over 14 years with 15 seasons, over 3300 episodes, and creating over 2000 daytime jobs.

During the course of the night, an Industry merit award set to honour living legend and enigma Taiwo Ajayi-Lycett, was presented by Nollywood veteran Joke Silva.

Movies that won big at the award show were “Amina”, carting home four awards for best sound editor, best art director, best costume design and the big award of the night, best overall movie.

Ramsey Nouah’s Rattlesnake: The Ahanna story ties up with Amina, also racking up four awards in the best cinematography category, with Stan Nze winning best actor, Osas Ighodaro winning best actress and Ramsey Nouah winning best Director.

Following closely was Omo Ghetto The Saga, with two awards in the Best Makeup and Funke Akindele winning the Best actress in a comedy.

Below are the winners of the 2022 8th AMVCA awards:

Best Sound Editor: Jim Lively, James Nelson- Amina

Best Picture editor: Tunde Apalowo- Maria Ebun Pataki

Best Lighting Designer (Movie or Series): Mathew Yusuf- Nneka the pretty serpent

Best Art Director (Movie or Series): Tunji Afolayan – Amina

Best Makeup artiste: Balogun Abiodun – Omo Ghetto (The Saga)

Best Writer (Movie or series): Mannie Oiseomaye, Donald Tombia, and Biodun Stephen – Introducing the Kujus

Best Cinematographer: Mohammed Atta- Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Costume Design: Millicent T Jack – Amina

Best indigenous language (movie or series) Swahili: Freddy Feruzi – Obambe

Best indigenous language (movie or series) Hausa: Rogers Ofime- Voiceless

Best indigenous language (movie or series) Yoruba: David Akande, Demola Yusuf, Edgard Leroy – Alaise

Best indigenous language (movie or series)Igbo – Uche Nnanna Maduka

Best Television series (Drama or Comedy): Rogers Ofime – Mystic river

Best Documentary: Saitabo Kaiyare, Mumo Liku, Elena Schilling, Daniella Fritz, Ann Katrina Roberg – If objects could speak

Best Short Film or Online Video: Taiwo Ogunnimo- I am the prostitute mama described

Best online social content creator: Oga Sabinus (Mr Funny)

Best Movie Southern Africa: Dantagos Jimmy-Melani – Hairareb

Best Movie East Africa: Morocco Omari – Girl in the Yellow Jumper

Best Movie West Africa: Bolanle Austin Peters, Joseph Umoibom, James Amuta- Collision Course

Best soundtrack (Movie or Tv Series): Pascal Aka, Raquel- Goldcoast Lounge

Best supporting actress (Movie or Series): Omowunmi Dada- Country Hard

Best Supporting Actor (Movie or Series): Odunlade Adekola- Jankariwo

Best Africa Magic original comedy series: Rogers Ofime – The Johnsons

Best Africa Magic original Drama Series: Dimbo Atiya- The Rishantes

Best actress in a comedy(movie or tv series): Funke Akindele- Omo Ghetto

Best actor in a comedy (movie or tv series): Broda Shaggi – Dwindle

Best Actress in a Drama (movie or tv series): Osas Ighodaro – Rattlesnake: The Ahanna story

Best Actor in a Drama (Movie or Tv series): Stan Nze – Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Director (Movie or TV series): Ramsey Nouah- Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Overall Film: Izu Ojukwu, Okey Ogunjiofor – Amina

We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette

Katsina State


Katsina youths pledge to deliver over 2 million votes to Atiku

“Katsina State is Atiku’s political base because it is his second home.”



Nasarawa speaker begs NLC, TUC to shelve planned strike

The speaker appreciated Nigerians for their loyalty and support to the government since independence in the country.

Delta Assembly speaker Dennis Guwor


Delta speaker urges national unity, security for stronger Nigeria

“All these and many others need to be tackled as quickly as possible to guarantee greater tomorrow,” Mr Guwor said.

Plateau governor, Caleb Mutfwang


Independence: Gov. Mutfwang grants amnesty to four inmates

He said the pardon was in line with provisions of the prerogative of mercy as enshrined in the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.


Las Vegas police arrest Tupac’s killer, Mohbad’s ongoing investigation, other entertainment highlights

It is hoped that the arrest of “Keffe D” would bring to a close investigations surrounding the 1996 murder of rapper Tupac in Las Vegas.


Strike: FG calls organised labour to emergency meeting

Expected at the meeting are the national leadership of both the Nigeria Labour Congress and that of the Trade Union Congress.

Judge Nancy Maldona and Bola Tinubu.


Tinubu’s angry rhetoric can’t override general interest of Nigerians; he should not return to my court: U.S. Judge

“The court cautions President Tinubu that any request for a stay before this court will be denied,” Nancy Maldonado said.