Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Mozambique, four other countries elected into UN Security Council

In the African and Asia-Pacific group, Mozambique received 192 votes, marking its first time serving on the Council.

• June 9, 2022
United Nations Security Council
United Nations Security Council [Photo credit: CFR]

Mozambique and four other countries have been elected to serve as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council following a vote in the General Assembly on Thursday.

Mozambique, Ecuador, Japan, Malta, and Switzerland will join the UN body responsible for the maintenance of global peace and security, beginning in January 2023.

The five newly-elected countries will join Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates around the Security Council’s signature horseshoe table.

They will replace India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway, which will vacate their seats at the end of 2022.

Ambassadors applauded each country after its name was read out by the President of the General Assembly, Abdulla Shahid, while announcing the results.

The Security Council consists of 15 countries. Five of them – China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States – are permanent members with the right to veto.

The General Assembly, which comprises all 193 UN Member States, elects the 10 non-permanent members who serve a two-year term.

To secure a place on the Council, countries must receive two-thirds majority, or 128 votes, even if they run uncontested.

Candidates in 2022 vied for five seats under three regional groups: two for African and Asia-Pacific countries, one for Latin America and the Caribbean, and two for Western Europe and other States.

Overall, 192 UN Member States participated in the election.

Ballot papers listed the names of all countries submitted at least 48 hours before the vote.

Additional blank lines corresponding to the number of vacant seats were also provided for including any other names.

The five new non-permanent members ran largely uncontested.

In the African and Asia-Pacific group, Mozambique received 192 votes, marking its first time serving on the Council. Japan garnered 184 votes, and Mongolia three.

Ecuador, the sole candidate from Latin America and the Caribbean, obtained 190 votes, with two countries abstaining.

Switzerland will also be a newcomer to the Council. The country received 187 votes, and Malta 185 votes, again with two countries abstaining.


We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette

Percival Mabasa

Hot news Home top

Assailants gun down popular Philippine journalist known for criticising president

Percival Mabasa was inside his car, in front of his Las Pinas home, when he was killed by two assailants on a motorcycle.

Delta state assembly


Delta Assembly passes Transportation Data Management Bill

The bill seeks to provide for the collection and processing of data of persons commuting in public/commercial transport within, into and out of state.

Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT)


Teachers’ Day: NUT urges governors to pay salary arrears

Many state governors are said to owe primary school teachers and secondary schools months of salary arrears.

Court room


Police arraign man over stabiliser theft in Osun

Other items stolen are a standing fan costing N10,000 with a window blind worth N25,000.

FCTA demolish 700 illegal structures built on swamps


FCTA removes 700 illegal structures in flood-prone areas

The illegal structures erected in swampy areas were inhabited by over 1,000 petty traders, comprising young men, women, middle aged and the old.


Police commission dismisses seven officers, demotes 10 for gross misconduct

A letter of warning was also issued to two officers while four were exonerated.