Saturday, May 28, 2022

Adamawa, Jigawa schools win basketball championships

Winners of both categories went home with a trophy as well as N125,000 and N100,000 each, while the runners up pocketed N75,000 and N60,000 respectively.

• May 13, 2022

Jigawa and Adamawa states’ girls and boys have emerged zonal champions of the 22nd Nestle-Milo Secondary School Basketball Championships at the Indoor Sports Hall of Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano.
The encounter saw the girls basketball team of Government Secondary School Numan, Adamawa, defeat their counterparts from Government Girls Secondary School, Shekarau, Kano, 20-8 to win the trophy.

Dutse Model International Secondary School, Jigawa defeated Nigeria Tulip International College, Yobe, 51-23 to win the boys’ category.

Six teams from group A and B on Thursday locked horns before the winners emerged.

Speaking at the final, Funmilola Oyewole, Category Development Manager Beverages, Nestle Nigeria Plc, said Milo had been in the forefront of the development of grassroots sports in the country.

She emphasised that Milo-sponsored championships had played a crucial role in grassroots sports development in the country.

Oyewole, who said Nestle was committed to sustaining the development, noted that the competition started with 500 schools in 1999 but had risen to around 10,000 across the country.

“The Milo Basketball Championship is Nigeria’s only private company-sponsored school sports and it enjoys the collaboration of Nigeria Schools Sports Federation (NSSF) and the National Collegiate Sports Foundation,” she said.

Oyewole added that the winners would play in the national final scheduled to hold in Lagos later in the year.

Puiami Dickson, star player of the Adamawa team, won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award of the tournament for the girls’ category.

In the boys’ category, the MVP went to Benjamin Ishaku of Dutse Model School, Jigawa.

Winners of both categories went home with a trophy as well as N125,000 and N100,000 each, while the runners up pocketed N75,000 and N60,000 respectively.


We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette

Simon Lalong


Gov. Lalong clinches APC senatorial ticket for Plateau South

Mr Lalong emerged unopposed to poll 335 out of the 340 votes, with five being invalid.

Gbenga Daniel


Gbenga Daniel wins APC Ogun East senatorial ticket

In a landslide victory, the former governor polled 450 votes out of the 483 accredited voters.

Photo of Nigerian Correctional Service HQ used to illustrate this story


Abubakar Umar appointed Nigerian Correctional Service spokesperson

Mr Umar takes over from Francis Enobore, who served in that capacity for seven years and has retired from service.


LIVE: Delegates begin voting at PDP presidential convention 2022

The open-secret ballot system will be used during the exercise, which is being coordinated by former Senate President David Mark.

Musiliu Obanikoro


Like Babajide, Musiliu Obanikoro loses APC senatorial ticket in Lagos

Mr Obanikoro’s son, Babajide Obanikoro, had on Friday lost the APC ticket for a return to the House of Representatives.