Saturday, May 28, 2022

#Justiceforsylvester: Five Dowen College students each granted N1 million bail

The chief magistrate ordered that they stay within two kilometres of their residence at all times.

• December 21, 2021
Dowen College
Dowen College

Five Dowen College students, charged with the alleged murder of their 12-year-old schoolmate, Sylvester Oromoni, have been admitted to bail in the sum of one million naira each on Tuesday by a Yaba Chief Magistrates’ court in Lagos.

The police charged the boys who are minors with conspiracy and homicide.

After hearing the bail application from the defendants’ counsel, chief magistrate Adeola Olatunbosun-Adedayo ordered the defendants to produce two sureties each in like sum.

Ms Olatunbosun-Adedayo said that one of each of the defendants’ surety must be their parent, and must swear an affidavit of compliance.

She further held that the international passports of all the defendants must be submitted to the court, their residence must be verified by the prosecutor and they must stay within two kilometres of their residence at all times.

Defence counsel Ifeoma Eson, A.E. Amah, Godwin Omoaka (SAN), Eze Ajibo and Micheal Ayinla were in court for the minors.

The defendants were, on December 9, remanded in a juvenile home over the death of Sylvester Oromoni. He was allegedly attacked in a case of bullying while in school.


We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette



APC shifts presidential primary to June 6-8; PDP to go ahead with convention

Felix Morka, the party’s National Publicity Secretary, announced this in a statement on Saturday in Abuja.


Four suspected rail track vandals arrested in Kaduna

Operatives of the NSCDC arrested four suspected vandals and recovered 500 railway slippers in Kaduna.


APC Oshodi-Isolo II APC Primary: Jude Idimogu scores zero; loses third term bid

His greatest challenger, Oladipo Ajomale, pulled 30 votes from the 30 party delegates to emerge winner of the exercise.


James Faleke wins APC Ikeja Federal Constituency ticket for fourth term

The Returning Officer, Ewosho Oladunjoye, declared Mr Faleke the winner having polled 47 votes out of a possible 50.

Senator Teslim Folarin


Teslim Folarin emerges APC guber candidate for Oyo

Mr Folarin polled 954 votes, Mr Adelabu 327, Mr Agbaje 15, Mr Alao six, Mr Adeduntan two votes while Mr Akintola had no vote.