Saturday, May 28, 2022

Naira suffers further devaluation, now N409 to dollar

The market closed at N406.54 to a dollar on Tuesday, depicting a drop by N1.41 compared to N405.13 to a dollar traded on Monday.

• February 17, 2021
Godwin Emefiele
Godwin Emefiele

The naira closed at N409 to $1 at the Investors and Exporters window at the foreign exchange as dollar supply rose by eight percent on Tuesday. 

Data from Nairametrics showed that the forex turnover at the window rose by 7.9 percent on Tuesday, with forex turnover increasing marginally from $28 million on Monday, to $30 million on Tuesday. 

On Monday, the naira closed against the US dollar at N409 to $1, marking six consecutive days the currency closed in the N400 to $1 range and the highest it closed since December 2020. 

At the parallel market, the naira remained the same as Monday, closing at N473/$1 on Tuesday.

The market closed at N406.54 to a dollar on Tuesday, depicting a drop by N1.41 compared to N405.13 to a dollar traded on Monday.

It peaked at N410 to $1 during the intra-day trading and sold as low as N390/$1 before closing at N409.67 to a dollar. 

In December, the currency market closed with the exchange rate between the naira and dollar at N410 to $1 at the official NAFEX window.

At the N410.25/$1, the exchange rate officially depreciated by 11 percent for 2020. 

The naira has now been devalued at least three times at the official investors’ and exporters’ window. 

In March 2020, the exchange rate climbed from N307 to N360, then to N380 in August. 

We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette


APC Oshodi-Isolo II APC Primary: Jude Idimogu scores zero; loses third term bid

His greatest challenger, Oladipo Ajomale, pulled 30 votes from the 30 party delegates to emerge winner of the exercise.


James Faleke wins APC Ikeja Federal Constituency ticket for fourth term

The Returning Officer, Ewosho Oladunjoye, declared Mr Faleke the winner having polled 47 votes out of a possible 50.

Senator Teslim Folarin


Teslim Folarin emerges APC guber candidate for Oyo

Mr Folarin polled 954 votes, Mr Adelabu 327, Mr Agbaje 15, Mr Alao six, Mr Adeduntan two votes while Mr Akintola had no vote.



2023: INEC to close candidates’ nomination portal June 17

The commission said it would close that of the governorship and state assemblies’ nominations on July 15.