Monday, November 28, 2022

Oyegun committee disqualifies ten APC presidential aspirants

Mr Odigie-Oyegun, however, did not mention the names of the aspirants that were cleared or those that were not cleared by the committee.

• June 3, 2022
John Odigie-Oyegun
John Odigie-Oyegun

The All Progressives Congress (APC) says only 13 aspirants, out of  23 have been cleared to contest for the party’s ticket in the upcoming Presidential Primary Election.

John Odigie-Oyegun, chairman of the seven-man 2023 APC Presidential Screening Committee, announced this on Friday in Abuja, while submitting the report of the committee to the party’s leadership.

Mr Odigie-Oyegun, however, did not mention the names of the aspirants that were cleared or those that were not cleared by the committee.

Sen. Abdullahi Adamu, the APC National Chairman while receiving the report, said it would be looked into by the party’s leadership.

Twenty-three presidential aspirants appeared before the Odegie-Oyegun-led committee that sat for two days.

Some of the aspirants include; Sen. Bola Ahmed Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State and national leader of the party, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo and Mr Rotimi Amaechi, who until recently was the Minister of Transportation.

Others are; ex-governor of Akwa Ibom and former Minister of Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), Sen. Godswill Akpabio, former Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu and former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba.

Former Imo governor, Sen. Rochas Okorocha, former Ogun governor, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Cross River’s Gov. Ben Ayade, and his Ebonyi counterpart, Gov. Dave Umahi, are also in the race.

Also in the race are former President of the Senate, Sen. Ken Nnamani, Gov. Yahaya Bello of Kogi, Jigawa’s Gov. Badaru Abubakar and President of the Senate, Dr Ahmad Lawan.

Others are; former Zamfara governor, Sen. Ahmed Yerima, Pastor Nicholas Nwagbo, and former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole, and the only female contender, Uju Kennedy-Ohanenye.

The cleared aspirants are to contest the party’s 2023 presidential ticket at its presidential primary scheduled to hold between June 6 and June 8, at the Eagle Square, Abuja. 


We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette

A composite of Bola Tinubu , Kashim Shettima and APC logo

Heading 5

2023: APC warns against northern agenda, urges support for Tinubu

“The APC presidential ticket of Tinubu/Shettima is merely coincidental, not out of any desire to suppress a particular set of people.”



NDLEA seizes 5.8 tons of skunk, cannabis in 5 states

Mr Babafemi said among those arrested was a cripple, Ibrahim Yusuf, 45, in possession of 4kg of the psychotropic substance.



Troops eliminate four bandits in clearance operations in Kaduna

Mr Aruwan the troops recovered one AK47 rifle, one magazine with 22 rounds of ammunition and a motorcycle.

Babagana Umara Zulum


2023: Zulum charges APC not to allow opposition to win

Mr Zulum stated this on Sunday in Maiduguri while inaugurating the 887-member APC Campaign Council in the state.

Ademola Adeleke

Hot news Home top

Gov. Adeleke appoints chief of staff, SSG, spokesman 

The governor announced the appointment of Teslim Igbalaye as the Secretary to the State Government (SSG).