Saturday, May 28, 2022

Abuja #EndSARS panel wails as police shun sitting

In all the petitions called on Thursday there was no police representation.

• March 3, 2022
Abuja EndSARS panel

The panel investigating rights violation by the Nigerian Police, especially the defunct Special Anti Robbery Squad, SARS, has decried the non appearance of summoned officers at the panel’s sitting.

The Independent Investigative Panel sitting in Abuja was set up by the federal government in November 2020, following the #EndSARS protest which was triggered by nationwide allegations of police brutality.

Hillary Ogbonna, secretary of the Abuja Panel, registered the panel’s dismay while briefing newsmen on the failure of police to be present at the panel sitting on Thursday.

Mr Ogbonna expressed surprise that none of the police officials needed was present at the panel in spite of the efforts by the panel to deliver its assigned tasks at a stipulated period.

“If this non punctuality attitude of the police becomes a pattern it is capable of bringing a setback to the mandate of the panel.

“The panel will continue to engage the police authority and other stakeholders to seek their cooperation to ensure that justice is done to the victims of police brutality.

“The records of the entire proceedings, especially todays’ will be given to the police without any charge,” he said.

The  panel had on Dect 23, 2021 adjourned sitting and resumed on March 1, 2022.

In all the petitions called on Thursday there was no police representation. 


We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette



APC shifts presidential primary to June 6-8; PDP to go ahead with convention

Felix Morka, the party’s National Publicity Secretary, announced this in a statement on Saturday in Abuja.


Four suspected rail track vandals arrested in Kaduna

Operatives of the NSCDC arrested four suspected vandals and recovered 500 railway slippers in Kaduna.


APC Oshodi-Isolo II APC Primary: Jude Idimogu scores zero; loses third term bid

His greatest challenger, Oladipo Ajomale, pulled 30 votes from the 30 party delegates to emerge winner of the exercise.


James Faleke wins APC Ikeja Federal Constituency ticket for fourth term

The Returning Officer, Ewosho Oladunjoye, declared Mr Faleke the winner having polled 47 votes out of a possible 50.

Senator Teslim Folarin


Teslim Folarin emerges APC guber candidate for Oyo

Mr Folarin polled 954 votes, Mr Adelabu 327, Mr Agbaje 15, Mr Alao six, Mr Adeduntan two votes while Mr Akintola had no vote.