Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Diri swears in five commissioners, 25 special advisers in Bayelsa

Also inaugurated were six technical advisers to complement the programmes of the Bayelsa government.

• October 12, 2020
Governor Duoye Diri
Governor Duoye Diri

Governor Douye Diri on Monday swore in two new cabinet commissioners, three non-executive commissioners of the state Local Government Service Commission and 25 Special Advisers.

Also inaugurated were six technical advisers to complement the programmes of the Bayelsa government.

At the ceremony, which took place in the executive chambers of the Government House in Yenagoa, Mr. Diri charged the new appointees to be diligent, dedicated and to wear the toga of integrity.

On August 26, Mr. Diri swore in 25 cabinet members of the Bayelsa State Executive Council.

He said the revalidation of his mandate depended on their performance and the extent to which they selflessly serve the people.

The governor emphasised the need for them to adhere to their respective roles, and avoid actions that could hinder the smooth operations of government.

Mr. Diri stated that team work must be their watchword as this would help his administration achieve more goals.

“We expect you to be diligent, dedicated and wear the toga of integrity. We cannot afford to fail as failure is not in our dictionary.

“God is interested in the prosperity of Bayelsa. I believe He will continue to supernaturally engrace us all to do exceedingly, abundantly and far above what we can think or imagine.

“We are all happy to have you as a piece and a part of the prosperity jigsaw and we look forward to a fruitful cooperation and contribution to the fitting of this great Bayelsa project,” he said.

The new commissioners are Erasmus Patrick in charge of Ijaw national affairs and Kemebradikumo Wariebi (Water Resources).

The new commissioners of the Local Government Service Commission are Lambert Ototo (Chairman) while Carter Cleopas and Awupi Odudu are to serve as non-executive commissioners.

Mr. Diri also announced the appointment of Daru Owei, an oil industry expert, as honorary special adviser on oil and gas.

Other honorary special advisers are Harcourt Adukeh (urban renewal), Mathew Seiyefa (security), Joshua Fumudoh (Ijaw National Affairs) while Apostle David Zilly-Aggrey and Willy Winning Bunton are to serve in the capacity of religious affairs.

The technical advisers include publisher of the Nigerian Pilot, Dennis Sami (print media), Ebizi Ndiomu-Brown (private public partnership), Boma Spero-Jack (conflict resolution), Ebimoboere Eseinmote (hospitality and tourism), and S.S John-Peters (public affairs). 


We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette

Percival Mabasa

Hot news Home top

Assailants gun down popular Philippine journalist known for criticising president

Percival Mabasa was inside his car, in front of his Las Pinas home, when he was killed by two assailants on a motorcycle.

Delta state assembly


Delta Assembly passes Transportation Data Management Bill

The bill seeks to provide for the collection and processing of data of persons commuting in public/commercial transport within, into and out of state.

Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT)


Teachers’ Day: NUT urges governors to pay salary arrears

Many state governors are said to owe primary school teachers and secondary schools months of salary arrears.

Court room


Police arraign man over stabiliser theft in Osun

Other items stolen are a standing fan costing N10,000 with a window blind worth N25,000.

FCTA demolish 700 illegal structures built on swamps


FCTA removes 700 illegal structures in flood-prone areas

The illegal structures erected in swampy areas were inhabited by over 1,000 petty traders, comprising young men, women, middle aged and the old.


Police commission dismisses seven officers, demotes 10 for gross misconduct

A letter of warning was also issued to two officers while four were exonerated.