Saturday, May 28, 2022

Guinea president forgives players for AFCON exit, demands part refund

The president previously said the team will refund the state’s money if they failed to win the cup.

• January 27, 2022
Mamady Doumbouya, Guinea Elephants
Mamady Doumbouya, Guinea Elephants

Interim President of Guinea, Mamady Doumbouya, has forgiven the country’s national men’s football team for crashing out of the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in a 1-0 loss to the Gambia but wants a partial refund for the games not played in the competition.

The president says that his utmost intention was to encourage them, having understood that building teams take time.

“Latest on Guinea President Mamady Doumbouya has forgiven the team. Says his ultimatum was just to encourage them. He understands team building takes time.

“But the money given to the team covered QF, Semi-final, and final games and that must be returned to the state coffers,” Ghanian sports journalist Saddik Adams tweeted on Wednesday.

Mr Doumbouya previously said the team will refund the state’s money if they failed to win the cup. The Guinea elephants, however, crashed out of the competition on Monday.

We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette



APC shifts presidential primary to June 6-8; PDP to go ahead with convention

Felix Morka, the party’s National Publicity Secretary, announced this in a statement on Saturday in Abuja.


Four suspected rail track vandals arrested in Kaduna

Operatives of the NSCDC arrested four suspected vandals and recovered 500 railway slippers in Kaduna.


APC Oshodi-Isolo II APC Primary: Jude Idimogu scores zero; loses third term bid

His greatest challenger, Oladipo Ajomale, pulled 30 votes from the 30 party delegates to emerge winner of the exercise.


James Faleke wins APC Ikeja Federal Constituency ticket for fourth term

The Returning Officer, Ewosho Oladunjoye, declared Mr Faleke the winner having polled 47 votes out of a possible 50.

Senator Teslim Folarin


Teslim Folarin emerges APC guber candidate for Oyo

Mr Folarin polled 954 votes, Mr Adelabu 327, Mr Agbaje 15, Mr Alao six, Mr Adeduntan two votes while Mr Akintola had no vote.