Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Members sue APC, chairman for appointing Matawalle as party leader in Zamfara

Aggrieved APC members have sued Governor Mai Mala Buni of Yobe and two others to overturn Governor Bello Matawalle’s appointment as the party leader in Zamfara.

• July 13, 2021
Buni, Yari, Marafa and Matawalle
Buni, Yari, Marafa and Matawalle

Aggrieved APC members have sued Governor Mai Mala Buni of Yobe and two others to overturn Governor Bello Matawalle’s appointment as the party leader in Zamfara.

In an originating summons seen by Peoples Gazette on Monday, the party members argued that Mr Buni lacked the power to singlehandedly dissolve a duly appointed state working committee before the expiration of their four-year tenure.

Last June, the Yobe governor (the party’s national Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee chairman) declared Mr Matawalle APC leader in Zamfara following his defection to the party and dissolved the state’s caretaker committee. He explained that the Zamfara governor’s appointment was in line with the APC constitution.

Disagreeing with him, the party members asked the court to nullify the appointment, stating that the development violates Articles (III), (VI), and (VII) of the APC constitution.

The aggrieved party members also prayed the court to mandate INEC to deal directly with the dissolved state’s working committee pending the conduct of the party’s national congress.

The tussle over who leads APC in Zamfara has been an issue since Mr Matawalle defected to the party and was declared leader of the party over former governor Abdulaziz Yari and Kabir Marafa.

Messrs Yari and Marafa said they had met with six governors from the APC to discuss the conditions upon which Mr Matawalle would be accepted as a party member.

“It is one thing we do not agree with, where Governor Mai Mala said (Matawalle is the leader of the APC) because he is not in our discussions with six governors.

“What we agreed on was to go and launch Bello first and return to negotiate,” the party leaders during an interview with BBC Hausa said.

The originating summons has Mr Buni as the first defendant, APC as the second defendant, and INEC as the third defendant.

The suit was filed by Ibrahim Kofa, Abdul’aziz Dan Maliki, Tafa Nassarawa, Umar Abdullahi Dan Maigadi, Abubakar Tijani Dan Ayya, Bala Kaura, Lawal Suleiman, Abdullahi Sani Dan Azumi, and Babangida Abdullahi.

We have recently deactivated our website's comment provider in favour of other channels of distribution and commentary. We encourage you to join the conversation on our stories via our Facebook, Twitter and other social media pages.

More from Peoples Gazette

U.S. Consulate in Lagos


Lagos sees over 200% rise in visa approvals as U.S. intensifies consular services after COVID-19 pandemic

In Lagos, 42,329 American visas were approved in the year 2022 alone, a high figure compared to the 11,533 visas granted in 2021.

Peter Nwaoboshi


N805 Million Fraud: Delta senator Nwaoboshi finally lands in prison after hiding for months

On July 1, 2022, the Lagos Division of the Court of Appeal sentenced Mr Nwaoboshi to prison after it convicted him on a two-count charge of money laundering.

Armed herdsmen

Port Harcourt

Ijaw leaders raise alarm over influx of armed herdsmen into Niger Delta

They called on “the Niger Delta states to properly enforce their anti-open grazing laws and protect lives and property.

Paradigm Initiative (PIN)


PIN launches new project to provide digital security for Nigerians 

PIN developed the Ayeta toolkit—named after the Yoruba word for “bulletproof”—to give human rights activists tips on digital security.

APC and PDP flags


PDP, APC oppose election postponement

The two major political parties in Nigeria have spoken against the touted postponement of the general elections billed for February 25 and March 11.

Trading floor


Indices up by 0.23% at equities market 

The market capitalisation which opened at N29.575 trillion inched higher by N69 billion or 0.23 per cent to close at N29.644 trillion.